Bob Allen Wins One

I should really leave this story alone, but I just can’t help myself.

Florida State Representative Bob Allen (R-Cockmeister) actually won one in court yesterday. Although the judge denied his motion to dismiss a solicitation charge arising from his offer to blow an undercover cop and pay $20 for the privilege, the prosecution can’t use his post-arrest statements (“stocky black guy”, “Would it make a difference if I told you I was a state representative”, “I have $800 in my car”, etc.) at trial because he wasn’t Mirandized before making the statements.

That’s right – even gluttonous, lying, hypocritical Republican sex criminals have constitutional rights, at least until the gluttonous, lying, hypocritical Republican sex criminals take them all away.

Trial is scheduled to commence on September 19.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Clutch  On August 28, 2007 at 11:11 am

    R-Cockmeister! Ah, me oh my.

    Anyhow, is there such a thing as too much schadenfreude? Have doctors settled on a RDA for it? These days I worry that I’m getting too much in my diet.

  • genghishitler  On August 28, 2007 at 11:15 am

    That’s a legitimate concern, Clutch, but I find myself unable to leave it be. 😀

Leave a Reply

